The End of 40 days

So I will be honest the last 5 days of the 40 were VERY minimal in the actual physical practice of yoga. With my husband home I just did not want to take the time away from him or our family to be on the mat. I did at least THINK and TALK about yoga each of the days. I also tried to put into practice off the mat what I learned on it: patience, understanding, grace, flexibility and calmness. 

With so many adjustments lately on the home front it was difficult to always remain calm, cool and collected and while I would like to say I did 100% of the time I can’t. But I can say there is progress, a lot of it and it feels great!  And while the person before this challenge would have been so hard on themselves for not finishing the way I expected to, I am not disappointed because I know I am one step closer to achieving what I want to in my life.
I have learned a lot through this challnge about forgiveness of others and for yourself and learned what truly matters is taking everything in your life one step at a time. You can’t bust out a head stand before you’ve worked on your core, or jump into crow until you have learned to trust yourself. Just as in life you cannot always have what you want immediately, you have to chip away at some things. The point is you never know how powerful you can be or how far you can go until you push your boundaries, even just a little. 

While you may not be ready for your own long term challenge- I implore you to set a goal for yourself- maybe something you’ve always wanted to accomplish, learn or do and begin the first step of it today. One week, month or year from now you’ll look back at that small step and realize it was not as hard as you imagined in your head. 

Published by

kristenashley6

Just trying to search out my niche in life and live to its fullest potential. These words are what come to mind when I think of my life in a nutshell: Mom, military wife, friend, French teacher, coach, yoga, working out, eating right, cooking, infertility survivor, travel and wanderlust. (Nothing is in any particular order other than Mom and wife as my family means everything to me!)

Leave a Reply

