Day 27: When Yoga Brings you hOMe

Entering the studio I practically skipped in to my favorite instructors class. Part of the reason I love this instructor is that she is so warm and welcoming to each and every person that walks in the door. Today there was a newbie and I saw the instructor ‘s magic and that of the studio take hold of yet another person. While everyone chatted I searched around for some of my yogi buddies. Unfortunately I did not see any of my usual friends. Being pretty exhausted from being too excited to sleep (my hubby comes home tomorrow!), I wasn’t really feeling up for making any new friends either. The chatter escalated as more people filed in and I began to shrink, to feel like an outsider a bit. From there the idea got in my head that it was just not going to be a good practice. I was too tired. I didn’t have any friends there. I was so ticked about a personal issue.  I wasn’t feeling a good vibe. Blah blah blah… 

Class started and there were a complete two minutes of silence. I have never started like that. There is usually a reading, maybe a couple breathes of silence, but never minuteS of silence. Those couple of minutes made me a little uneasy and out of my zone as well. And then the call came for OM and it was a booming, shake your core, powerful OM. It instantly connected me to the others in the class and made me feel my groove and my purpose again. 

We may come to our mat with the best of intentions some days and others may feel a little shake-y, but it is really looking for the small things each time you step on. Wether it be connecting to others or more to yourself, indulging in a cathartic Om or finding 1/16 of an inch more in a pose. The days where you feel like you are just pushing through to get to the end are sometimes the ones you need the most!  
For more fitness tips, recipes and motivation check out my Facebook page

Published by

kristenashley6

Just trying to search out my niche in life and live to its fullest potential. These words are what come to mind when I think of my life in a nutshell: Mom, military wife, friend, French teacher, coach, yoga, working out, eating right, cooking, infertility survivor, travel and wanderlust. (Nothing is in any particular order other than Mom and wife as my family means everything to me!)

Leave a Reply

