Day 22: Fueling Your Tank

After practicing this morning I had to run and get gas and literally fuel my car for what seems like the 10th time his week already. (My son has been going through nap issues and only seems to get sleep in the car.  I know bad habit- but I feel like the need for sleep outweighs all other ‘rules’…). Anyways, as I was fueling up I was reminded about an old saying about filling your cup before you have the ability to truly fill someone else’s. 

I have to be honest that it is only recently that I’ve really gotten this phrase. I have tried to be mindful of it and live that way (although some people think it’s being selfish). I have found that it truly helps me stop running through the list of things I have to get done and things I would like to be doing and actually focus on what is at hand. Sometimes that means making myself lunch while also making something for my son and allowing myself the first bite of food. I usually have a toy or something for him to be occupied with as well. 

As women tend to do, we put everyone else before ourselves but I’m telling you that it is OK to be a little selfish. Enjoy an extra 5 minutes in the shower, go for that walk around the neighborhood, indulge in a little massage every now and then. Once you feel full, you can then provide untethered attention to others. Those around you can tell when you’re not all in and it affects the whole mood of the situation. We are so used to running on 100 cylinders and ‘busy’ has become a badge of pride when in reality it means we are just doing a whole lot of things half assed. Take time to feed your soul each day and then clear the clutter from your to do list to dive down into what truly matters for yourself and those you love. 

Published by

kristenashley6

Just trying to search out my niche in life and live to its fullest potential. These words are what come to mind when I think of my life in a nutshell: Mom, military wife, friend, French teacher, coach, yoga, working out, eating right, cooking, infertility survivor, travel and wanderlust. (Nothing is in any particular order other than Mom and wife as my family means everything to me!)

Leave a Reply

