Stuffed Peppers-Much Better Than I Remember!

I have avoided making, ordering or eating stuffed peppers ever since having them at  least a decade ago because I just did not like them.  Something wasn’t right.  But I decided, in the name of being adventurous and trying something new, that I would give this recipe a whirl.  I’ll admit it was a little more it me consuming than I would’ve liked, but boiling the pepper was definitely what made this recipe delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 5 large bell peppers
  • 1 tsp. Extra Virgin Olive oil
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 14 oz. can of fire roasted diced tomato (I like the garlic ones)
  • 1/2 cup uncooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tsp. Worcester sauce
  • 2 1/2 cup cooked lentils
  • 2 tsp. parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup light cheddar cheese, shredded (If you want this to be vegan then try out the dairy free cheeses like Daiya)

Method:

  1. Boil a large pot of water (the 5 peppers will have to fit in it) and preheat oven to 350.
  2. Cut the tops from the peppers and discard the seeds and membranes. Chop the pepper tops (minus the stem) and set aside.  Place the whole peppers with the tops cut off in the pot of boiling water for 5 minutes.  On a paper towel or hand towel, invert the peppers and let drain.
  3. In a large skillet over medium heat, add olive oil, diced peppers and onions- cook until tender.
  4. Add un-drained can of diced tomatoes, rice, 1.2 cup water, Worcester sauce, parmesan cheese and a dash of black pepper if desired.  Bring to a boil and reduce the heat.  Cover and simmer for 15-18 minutes (rice should be tender), stir occasionally.
  5. Add lentils and cheddar cheese.  Stir to blend ingredients and then stuff into the peppers.  Place peppers in a 10x6x2 inch baking pan and cover with foil or a lid.  Bake for 30-35 minutes.

BON APPETIT!

 

**If you are on the 21 day fix eating plan you would count each stuffed pepper as 1 green, 1 yellow, a 1/2 blue and 1/2 tsp (grey)

 

For more recipes, fitness and health tips visit my Facebook page.

Published by

kristenashley6

Just trying to search out my niche in life and live to its fullest potential. These words are what come to mind when I think of my life in a nutshell: Mom, military wife, friend, French teacher, coach, yoga, working out, eating right, cooking, infertility survivor, travel and wanderlust. (Nothing is in any particular order other than Mom and wife as my family means everything to me!)

Leave a Reply

