Day 7: Recovery on and off the Mat

Practicing at home today I decided that it was best to stretch through a few sore muscles that have had rigorous workouts the past six days.  Too many chaturangas, too many rockstars and flip dogs.  My shoulders have been pretty exhausted from holding so many poses.  But this recovery got me thinking about how I have recovered other areas in my life to live a more fulfilling one.

It is important to listen to your body and know when to slow it down.  There is an edge that leading Yogi Baron Baptiste talks about in his book, “Journey into Power” and it is important to explore the edge of your body without going too far and causing damage.  Sometimes, as Baptiste puts it, people make a mistake by not recognizing that sometimes less is more.  This is an important lessons in life outside of the yoga studio as well.

Talking about how less is more, this was an important lesson for Ryan and I to learn before we became parents.  My husband and I led VERY busy lives that included teaching, coaching and a very full social calendar.  We thought that if we could do it all, then we would have it all.  All we really got ourselves was a bundle of stress and a very lazy attitude.  Yes we were each working about 60+ hours a week on an easy week, but when we weren’t working we felt like we owed it to ourselves to do nothing (unless there was a party, or event to go to).  We would sit in front of the TV with all of our free time and zone out.  We would spend an embarrassing amount of time watching DVRed shows and just sitting and complaining about how busy and tired we were.

Since finding out we were going to be parents, we decided we would not keep such full schedules anymore. Along the way I also decided that I did not want our baby to be a TV junkie like we had become. So when my husband left for deployment, I ditched the cable and decided I had had enough of the endless hours of mind numbing activity.  I was completely nervous because I LIVED the real Housewives, Teen Mom, Scandal and The Good Wife (among any other shows I could be mildly entertained by).  I was worried I wouldn’t have anything to do while at home, worried that friends I would connect with through talking about these shows would think I was weird for not having cable, worried that people wouldn’t want to come over because we didn’t have 150+ shows to watch.

Turns out that everything was, and is JUST FINE!  I now have time for the long list of things I had put off.  I have since started my own business, made time to deepen my French studies, to meditate, workout, be present with my son instead of half assing playtime by staring at the TV while absentmindedly rolling a toy around.  I am there for him and we are truly living a mindful and aware life.  So recovery in physical body is great, but so is the recovery from our hectic schedules and mindless hours of binge watching shows.

For more fitness motivation,recipes and tips checkout my Facebook page

Published by

kristenashley6

Just trying to search out my niche in life and live to its fullest potential. These words are what come to mind when I think of my life in a nutshell: Mom, military wife, friend, French teacher, coach, yoga, working out, eating right, cooking, infertility survivor, travel and wanderlust. (Nothing is in any particular order other than Mom and wife as my family means everything to me!)

Leave a Reply

